Tutorial: Make your own Board Game for Kids

Moses free printable board game for kids

This month I have been preparing a Moses / God’s Top 10 posting for my Compassion sponsored children and I thought it would be fun to do up a Moses board game to go with it and this is how I did it…

*

FREE PRINTABLE GAME BOARD FOR KIDS – FIRST, THINK ABOUT YOUR LAYOUT

  • First, think about the overall theme / layout of your board game. What theme will you choose? What overall shape and size do you want to make the game? Square, oval, circle, rectangle, s-shaped, heart-shaped, star-shaped or something special to suit your theme? A basket shape would have worked well for this theme (or 10 commandment stone tablet shape), but for this one I decided to keep it pretty simple and chose A4 size (anything over that would have to be folded) and to just completely fill in my blank page with counter steps. I decided to start from when Moses was born, up until the time God delivers the Israelites from their slavery in Egypt and they cross the Red Sea.
  • Choose your individual game steps: squares, ovals, circles, rectangles, hearts, stars or something special to suit your theme? How big do you want each step? Again, I decided to keep this one pretty simple and went for squares. Okay, that’s pretty much enough for now, so let’s get started…

*

PRINTABLE GAME BOARD FOR KIDS – HOW TO

1. SET PAGE SIZE:  Open a blank document and set the page size. In this case, I used MS Publisher and set it to A4. You can use any program that enables you to insert shapes, text boxes and pictures.

2. INSERT GAME STEPS:  Click Insert shape and draw it. This will be your first step. I chose a white square and a coloured border for it, then copied and pasted it across my whole document to fill my page, to make each step identical. Too easy. I left most of the squares white, but I added colour (insert – fill) to some to make the game board look more interesting.

3. INSERT GAME HEADER:  I removed 6 squares – 3 each, on line 2 and 3 – to put my header in. I actually used one of these images for my game header and added some words over it (insert text box – bring to front): God sends Moses with a message to Pharaoh, ‘Let my People Go!’. And that was my theme running through this game.

4. INSERT START / END BUTTONS:  Where do you want them? Which direction do you want your game to run in? Insert text box or Word Art. Select colour / border.

5. ARROWS TO SHOW DIRECTION: I included some arrows (insert shape – arrow) to show which direction the game was to move in and coloured them in (insert – fill). You can add a border if you wish. Whatever I am making, I try to use symbols wherever I can (e.g. scissors, clip art, or arrows), rather than words, to make it more multilingual for my kids who don’t speak English. There are lots of words for this game, but each one of those blank squares had a picture in it on my original, which will help them get the general idea. Eh… they can make up their own rules.  :)

6. INSERT TEXT BOXES:  I added individual text boxes (insert – text box) over the individual squares throughout the game board as instructions or information. This can include things like:

  • relevant Bible verses
  • information they need
  • instructions like: move forward… spaces; go back… spaces; lose a turn, have an extra bonus turn, etc. I didn’t think of the last two until just now…  next time.  :)

7. ADD CLIP ART / IMAGES:  As I mentioned earlier, I filled my game board with Moses related images, clip art and tiny colouring pages. I’d like to send it to my non-English speaking kids and this will also help them get the gist of what is going on. Any text I really want translated, I will make sure to include in the letter. On all the blank squares I shrunk down colouring pages (or parts of them) related to the squares around it. This is easy enough to do – just follow this tutorial. If you are good at drawing or doodling, you could easily add your own. Or ask your child to decorate their own game board. As you can see, I also added a few extra shapes (insert – shapes) for some of the Pharaoh and the Red Sea squares. I also found some cute and colourful stick figure children having fun to add on the last 3 lines. I haven’t been able to find the originals – but they looked a bit like these and these.

*

LAMINATE OR NOT TO LAMINATE?  Normally, I would definitely (and recommend to) laminate a printable board game going to a sponsored child in a developing country, but this time, because I filled it with tiny colouring pages, I decided not to. That way, they can have fun adding their own creative touch.

*

BOARD GAME COUNTERS / DICE FOR KIDS ~ FREE PRINTABLE

I made up some free printable game counters and dice to go with it. There is a blank version which you are also welcome to download if you prefer to make up your own. I added the same stick figure children that I used in the game to my counters as tiny images. I also added a couple of tiny colouring page images (parts of them anyway) which worked really well too. Once again, use this tutorial as a guide and shrink them right down so they fit neatly inside the counter square. If you are adding colouring pages, you may like to take out the white background of the colouring page first. Left click on your colouring page – then select the ‘set transparent color’ tool – then left click on the white background of the colouring page. Your colouring page should now have no background.

Free printable Game Board counters and dice for kids      Free printable Game Board blank counters and dice for kids

*

ANOTHER FREE PRINTABLE BOARD GAME TEMPLATE FOR KIDS

Here is a different shaped board game that I made up for my kids for part of a Creation Week theme using the same techniques. The whole page was filled with tiny colourful images relating to what God created each day of Creation Week – both inside and outside the oval shaped game board steps. And I added a Bible verse along the bottom of the board.

Free printable blank board game template for kids

Download

*

COUNTERS / DICE

And here are the colourful counters and dice to go with it.

free printable board game colorful dice and counters for kids

Download

*

DOWNLOAD

You are welcome to download any of these templates for your own personal use… enjoy.  :)

Download FREE PRINTABLE MOSES BOARD GAME FOR KIDS
Download FREE PRINTABLE COUNTERS AND DICE – Colour
Download FREE PRINTABLE COUNTERS AND DICE – Blank
Download FREE PRINTABLE CREATION WEEK BOARD GAME FOR KIDS
Download FREE PRINTABLE COUNTERS AND DICE – Colour

*

MORE CREATIVE DIY GAME BOARD IDEAS FOR KIDS

Make Your Own Bible Board Game  Living Waters has a blank board game template ready to go; simply paste in your questions and print; free printable

Colourful board games  with animals; adorable; free printable

More board game creative ideas

*

*

RELATED LINKS

Tutorial: Make your own Stickers
Tutorial: Make your own Wallet Cards
Tutorial: Make your own Stationery
Tutorial: Make your own Bookmark
Tutorial: Make your own Poster / Postcard
Tutorial: Note cards
Tutorial: Make your own Puzzles
Tutorial: Jazz up your Colouring Pages
Tutorial: Jazz up your Envelopes
Tutorial: Jazz up your Bible Verses
Tutorial: Adding photos to Articles  (this is also how you add your own images to your game board)

*

*

NOW IT’S YOUR TURN… 

Have you ever made up a printable board game? What theme/shape did you use?

If you like my work, please tell others; leave a comment and ‘like’ this page. Your kind comments make my day!

*¨*•.ღ.•*¨*

Follow me on Pinterest!

Come and say Hi to Paper Gifts for Estefany on…

PGFE FB  PGFE Godinterest  PGFE Google+  PGFE Pinterest  PGFE Home

Collect your FREE BONUS GIFTS when you sign up to follow me. What will they be? Click here to find out. And collect your additional FREE BONUS GIFTS when you follow me on Facebook (click on ‘Secret Treasure’ in the apps section).  

*

*

*

*

******

© 2014 – 2016 HTTP://WWW.PAPERGIFTSFORESTEFANY.WORDPRESS.COM. YOU MAY FREELY USE THIS WORK FOR YOUR OWN PERSONAL USE. TO SHARE THIS WORK WITH OTHERS PLEASE GIVE FULL AND CLEAR CREDIT TO HTTP://WWW.PAPERGIFTSFORESTEFANY.WORDPRESS.COM WITH APPROPRIATE AND SPECIFIC DIRECTION TO THE ORIGINAL CONTENT. DO NOT USE THIS WORK COMMERCIALLY OR REDISTRIBUTE IT ON ANOTHER WEBSITE. UNAUTHORIZED USE AND/OR DUPLICATION OF THIS MATERIAL WITHOUT EXPRESS AND WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THIS BLOG’S OWNER IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED.
18 thoughts on “Tutorial: Make your own Board Game for Kids

  1. Pingback: Moses / God’s Top 10 | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  2. Pingback: Inspirational Bible Posters | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  3. Pingback: Older Boys! | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  4. Pingback: Bible Treasure Theme Part 2 ~ Links | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  5. Pingback: 100 ways to encourage a child | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  6. Pingback: In the beginning… God (links) | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  7. Pingback: Jazz up your envelopes | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  8. Pingback: Tutorial ~ Make your own Note Cards | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  9. Pingback: Free Printable Photo Frames (Part 1) | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  10. Pingback: Tutorial – Make your own Stationery | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  11. Pingback: Dinosaur ~ Links | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  12. Pingback: Tutorial ~ Make your own Stickers (using blank envelope labels) | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  13. Pingback: Gift Ideas… DIY Activity Book for Kids (or adults) | Paper Gifts for Estefany

  14. Pingback: Gift Ideas… how about something free printable? | Paper Gifts for Estefany

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to leave a kind comment. You've made my day! :)

